Alexandra Hospital


Saturday August 18, 2018

10.00am - 1.00pm

Alexandra District Health invites the community to attend an Open Day to explore the health services facitlities behind the scenes, find out about services, have a helath check, enjoy complimentary food and fun activities, and receive a copy of the new Clinical Services Plan Brochure. We hope to see you all there.

Click here for the flyer for more information.


For immediate release 30th July 2018.

Message from the Chair and CEO


Alexandra District Health has been operating from the new hospital premises at 12 Cooper Street, Alexandra since November 2011 and we are currently considering the future of the old hospital site.

We are working through a number of processes and considerations. The building is more than 50 years old and valued by the community. The fire system in the old building was decommissioned when Alexandra District Health Service moved into the new hospital. Unfortunately the existing fire services don’t meet current fire safety standards and the old hospital building is not safe for occupancy. We have been working closely with the community groups that were occupying the old hospital site, to help them relocate to suitable premises.

We are also working in accordance with the Victorian Government Landholding Policy and Guidelines and Victorian Government Land Transaction Policy and Guidelines. The caveat on old hospital site was for the building to be used for health services. Following the building of the new hospital, the old premises is no longer needed for this purpose, with all health services relocated to the new building when it opened.

The property is complex as it overlaps three adjacent parcels of land, on three separate titles. In addition, if Alexandra District Health was to return the property to the government, the property would need to be in a suitable form for use. We are investigating the options.

We are engaging a quantity surveyor to determine the cost of refurbishment of the building to bring it up to modern standards. Once we have this estimate, we would need to write to the Government to determine the next steps.

We will keep people informed throughout the process.

Carole Staley                                      Debbie Rogers

Board Chair                                         CEO

Alexandra District Health                 Alexandra District Health


Media Release

For Immediate Release: Friday 20 July 2018

Consumer Advisory Committee members appointed

representing community health needs

Alexandra District Health welcomes five Consumer Advisory Committee members, who will meet next week to represent the community on a range of health needs.

Alexandra District Health received a total of nine applications for the Consumer Advisory Committee and five people were successful including: Pamela Delmodes; Leanne Monro; Dianne Wilson; Suzy van der Vlies and returning member Allan Smith.

Alexandra District Health CEO, Debbie Rogers said: “We were very pleased to receive applications from community-minded people, dedicated to improving consumer, carer and community participation in service planning and operations at Alexandra District Health.

“We welcome the recently appointed members of the Committee, who have demonstrated a strong understanding of the local community and local health issues, are active members of the local community with strong community networks, have strategic thinking abilities and great communication skills.”

Applications for the Consumer Advisory Committee were invited through advertising in the local paper and promotion via the Alexandra District Health website, facebook page and noticeboards. Letters were also sent to people who had registered their interest in participating, through the Clinical Service Plan consultation process via online survey.

Interviews were held by a panel including the CEO (Debbie Rogers), Board member (Geoff Hyland) and Quality & Risk Manager (Viv Low)

The Consumer Advisory Committee is a strategic advisory committee to the Alexandra District Health Board. Members undertake the following roles:

The Committee consists of the following members - two Board members, the Chief Executive Officer, two Staff members (one being the secretary) and five Community members.


Print this page Print this page